



Volume 1 / Issue 2 · September 14, 2020 · Published by the External Affairs and Relations Department

RA 11350: National Commission of Senior Citizens Act

This law creates the National Commission of Senior Citizens (NCSC) under the Office of the President. The Commission is mandated to ensure the full implementation of laws, policies, and programs of the government on senior citizens, review and conduct related studies, and recommend policy to Congress and the President. It abolishes the National Coordinating and Monitoring Board created under RA 9994 and transfers related functions from the Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD) to NCSC.

As of July 28, 2020, the Implementing Rules and Regulations (IRR) of this law were still being reviewed by members of the Commission.

Undersecretary Luzmininda C. Ilagan of DSWD informed the Senate that two Commissioners have been appointed to the NCSC: Ms. Ida Yap-Patron and Gloria Jumalig-Mercado. They are temporarily holding office at the DSWD central office in Batasan Hills, Quezon City, supported by staff from the Social Pension Program.

Usec. Ilagan, who heads the DSWD Change Management Team overseeing the transfer of functions from DSWD to NCSC, reported that she and DSWD Usec. for Special Concerns Camilo G. Gudmalin held a virtual meeting with the new Commissioners on July 21, 2020 to coordinate their efforts.

Usec. Ilagan also noted that a survey of personnel to be affected by the transfer is currently underway, along with preparations for the transition phase of the turnover of programs, projects, services, and activities. In the coming months, the DSWD Change Management Team and the Social Pension-National Program Management Office will continue to work closely to ensure a smooth transition.

DSWD will retain programs and services for senior citizens in its 2021 budget proposal to ensure the continuous delivery of services during the transition phase. For its part, NCSC will oversee the preparation of the administration budget for 2020 and 2021, as well as the proposed organizational structure and staffing pattern. Commissioners Yap-Patron and Jumalig-Mercado will also monitor the appointment of other NCSC officials, including new Commissioners.

As per the law, the NCSC shall have six Commissioners representing different geographical regions of the country. An Executive Director shall likewise be appointed to implement the policies, rules, regulations, and directives of NCSC.

© 2020 External Affairs and Relations Department, Room 411, Senate of the Philippines, J.W. Diokno Boulevard, Pasay City 1307 Inquiries:

Tel: +63 2 8552 6601 loc 4000, 4109, 4110 E-mail: senate.ells@outlook.com

Issues will be compiled in an annual report released every fourth quarter of the year.